Gasparilla Arts Festival 2015

outfit 2  Dress: 1. State, Shoes: Topshop at Nordstrom, Bag: Foley & Corinna

fest 4 fest 3 fest 2 fest 1 opera 2 opera 3

I think the main event that Tampa is known for is Gasparilla. There’s a lot of history surrounding the city’s origins with pirates so every year there is an “invasion” of pirates with a parade, art and film festivals, competitions, and music events. The parade is not for the faint-hearted, as seen on a recent segment on the The O’Reilly Factor (hint: booze and more booze).

The Gasparilla Arts Festival was held on Sat, Feb 28 and Sun, March 1 in downtown Tampa right along the River Walk along the Hillsborough River. Since it rained all day on Saturday, I went on Sunday which I believe had to be the hottest day of the year so far. It was around 85 degrees, I kid you not! It was a beautiful day and thankfully there were plenty of vendors with smoothies, ice cream, etc.

My favorite part had to be the opera singers. I’ve been going to the opera since I was a kid so I’m a big fan! Throughout the day, different singers from the Opera Tampa sang selections from various operas. The best were the 2 men who sang from Madama Butterfly. I was blown away because I did not expect that voice to come out of a guy in jeans and a baseball cap! Goes to show that opera transcends all.

One thought on “Gasparilla Arts Festival 2015

Leave a Reply

