5 Ways To Impress Your Boss

You want that promotion at work? There’s more to it than just coming in early and staying late. It seems as though employers and HR managers view millennials as entitled, narcissistic overspenders who crave immediate gratification. Well, we recent postgrads need to disprove those pompous critics! I’m currently at my second job since graduating college and I feel like I’ve learned so much about workplace behavior. I’d like to share some tips I’ve picked up along the way:

  1. Anticipate your boss’ needs.  This absolutely makes his/her job easier. A way to do this is learning what his/her job entails so you can get a better understanding of what he/she does all day long.
  2. Prove yourself to be indispensable. Volunteer for the tasks that nobody else wants. Even if it might seem dumb or laborious, it will be appreciated and it will get you noticed. This is especially so when it involves other departments. It’s all about getting seen so everyone can learn your name. Visibility in the office is key to moving up.
  3. Project a positive attitude even when you don’t have one. When something goes wrong, when all hope seems lost, remember to always stay positive. Embrace the situation and present an effective solution rather than rolling your eyes or grunting under your breath. It really makes a difference. At my old job, I remember sighing or grunting every time a part of our website wasn’t working, and my old boss actually took notice. Not good people! Now I’m definitely more patient and try to work around it rather than sulking.
  4. Never say I don’t know. Even if you don’t know the answer, try and find it. Google it. Ask a co-worker. Show your motivation to find solutions and answers. It shows ambition and a desire to always learn new things.
  5. Dress to impress. The saying holds true. Dress for the job you want, not the job you have. It really makes a difference because you’ll get taken more seriously and you will be memorable.

I’ve followed all of these for my own career and I can say they work! After just 2 months at my current job, I was doing more advanced inter-departmental responsibilities than my co-workers who had been there longer. I have to say, being on emails where the VP was also cc’ed was pretty amazing. My boss told me that I was doing awesome and really helping her out. She used “wow” many times when I told her I had completed a certain task already.

Watch out world. I’mma comin’.

Leave a Reply

